Frederic Leroux

1998 – 2001: Assistant Professor, University de Lausanne, Switzerland.
2001 – 2003: Assistant Professor, ETH Lausanne, Switzerland.
2003 – 2009: CNRS Associate Scientist, University of Strasbourg, France.
2005: Habilitation, University Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France.
2009- CNRS Research Director, University of Strasbourg, France.
2014- Director of the joint Bayer-CNRS laboratory on Organofluorine Chemistry.
2016- Deputy director Chemistry department of Molecular Chemistry LCM (University of Strasbourg, CNRS).
2016- Director of the French Fluorine Network GIS CNRS Fluor.
2018- Director Department of Molecular Chemistry (University of Strasbourg, Upper-Rhine University and CNRS).
2018- TITech SMCT: Specially Appointed Professor

Field of Specialization
Fluorine: Synthesis of heteroaromatics bearing emergent fluorinated substituents; New fluorination methodologies; Catalytic Fluorination; Asymmetric fluorination;/Phosphorus: P-chirogenic compounds, chiral phospholes, phosphahelicenes;/Phosphorus/Boron: Frustrated Lewis Pairs./Asymmetric synthesis: Control of axial chirality.

School of Materials and Chemical Technology(SMCT, Tokyo Tech)
University of Strasbourg(France)

Research Hub Group :Cutting-edge Cell Biology international hub group

Research Highlights

  • First synthesis of trifluoromethoxy heterocycles.
  • Use of FAR reagents for the synthesis of fluoroalkyl substituted heterocycles.
  • Synthesis of P-chirogenic phospholes.
  • Modular synthesis of enantiopure biaryls based on arynes, application in ligands design and total synthesis.


  • 2017: CNRS Innovation;
  • 2014: Savoir(s): “Une chimie innovante autour du fluor Savoir(s)”;
  • 2014: DNA: “Le Fluor pour moteur”;
  • 2014: CNRS Innovation.

Selected Awards

  • 2002 JSP fellowship, Bürgenstock Stereochemistry conference, Bürgenstock Lucerne, CH.

  • 2008 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).

  • 2013 Bayer lecturer; 2014 Wiley-Schlosser lecturer.

  • 2014 Wiley-Schlosser lecturer.

  • 2016 Bayer publication award.

Selected Publications

  • Schmitt, S. Bouvet, B. Pegot, A. Panossian, J. P. Vors, S. Pazenok, E. Magnier, F. R. Leroux,, Fluoroalkyl Amino Reagents for the Introduction of the Fluoro(trifluoromethoxy)methyl Group onto Arenes and Heterocycles. Org. Lett. 2017, 19, pp. 4960-4963.
  • Schmitt, A. Panossian, J. P. Vors, C. Funke, N. Lui, S. Pazenok, F. R. Leroux, A Major Advance in the Synthesis of Fluoroalkyl Pyrazoles: Tuneable Regioselectivity and Broad Substitution Patterns. Chem. Eur. J. 2016, 22, pp. 11239-11244.
  • Schmitt, B. Rugeri, A. Panossian, J.-P. Vors, S. Pazenok, F. R. Leroux, In Situ Generated Fluorinated Iminium Salts for Difluoromethylation and Difluoroacetylation., Org. Lett. 2015, 17, pp. 4510-4513.
  • R. Leroux, A. Berthelot, L. Bonnafoux, A. Panossian, Transition‐Metal‐Free Atropo‐Selective Synthesis of Biaryl Compounds Based on Arynes. Chem. Eur. J. 2012, 18, pp. 14232-14236.
  • Bonnafoux, R. Gramage-Doria, F. Colobert, F. R. Leroux, Catalytic Palladium Phosphination: Modular Synthesis of C-1-Symmetric Biaryl-Based Diphosphines. Chem. Eur. J. 2011, 17, pp. 11008-11016